

THE TOWNSHIP OF JOLY

INAUGURAL MEETING MINUTES

December 4, 2018

The inaugural meeting of the Council of the Township of Joly was held on Tuesday, December 4, 2018 in the temporarily relocated Council Chambers.

Present were incoming Mayor Tim Bryson, incoming Councillors Bill Black, Budd Brown, Tom Bryson and Brian McCabe; and staff, Jolene Mathieson, Deputy Clerk Treasurer and Leanne Crozier, Clerk Treasurer.

1. Call to Order

The inaugural Meeting was called to order by Leanne Crozier, Clerk Treasurer at 5:30 pm.

2. Declaration of Office

The Clerk administered the Declaration of Office to: Mayor Tim Bryson Councillor Bill Black Councillor Budd Brown Councillor Tom Bryson Councillor Brian McCabe

3. <u>Orientation</u>

The orientation package was briefly reviewed with the Council.

4. Welcome to Council

The following welcome packages/emails were provided to Council from: The Association of Municipalities of Ontario Norm Miller, MPP for Parry Sound – Muskoka Steve Clark, Minister of Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

5. 2019 Meeting Schedule

The 2019 meeting schedule was provided to new members of Council showing the dates and times of regular Council meetings and of the shared service/committee meetings.

6. <u>Appointment of Deputy Mayor</u>

R2018 – 183

Moved by Budd Brown – Seconded by Tom Bryson

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Brian McCabe to act in place of the head of Council when the head of Council is absent or refuses to act or the office is vacant and while so acting such member has all the powers and duties of the head of Council. **Carried**

7. <u>Appointment of Signing Officers for the Corporation</u> R2018 – 184

Moved by Bill Black – Seconded by Brian McCabe

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint the following as signing officers for the Corporation:

Mayor, Tim Bryson

Deputy Mayor, Brian McCabe

Clerk-Treasurer, Leanne Crozier

Deputy Clerk-Treasurer, Jolene Mathieson.

And further, all cheques will require two signatures on every payment. Carried

8. <u>Committee Appointments</u>

8.1 Almaguin Highlands Health Centre (AHHC)

R2018 – 185

Moved by Brian McCabe – Seconded by Budd Brown

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Tom Bryson to be the Township of Joly representative on the Almaguin Highlands Health Centre Committee for this term of Council.



THE TOWNSHIP OF JOLY

INAUGURAL MEETING MINUTES

December 4, 2018

Carried

8.2 <u>Almaguin Recycling Initiative – HAZMAT (ARI)</u> R2018 – 186

Moved by Tom Bryson – Seconded by Bill Black

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Budd Brown to be the Township of Joly representative on the Almaguin Recycling Initiative (HAZMAT) Committee for this term of Council. **Carried**

8.3 <u>Central Almaguin Economic Development Association (CAEDA)</u> R2018 – 187

Moved by Bill Black – Seconded by Budd Brown

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Tim Bryson to be the Township of Joly representative on the Central Almaguin Economic Development Association for this term of Council. **Carried**

8.4 <u>Central Almaguin Planning Board (CAPB)</u> R2018 – 188

Moved by Brian McCabe – Seconded by Bill Black

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Tim Bryson to be the Township of Joly representative on the Central Almaguin Planning Board for this term of Council. **Carried**

8.5 <u>French Severn Forest Local Citizens Committee</u> R2018 – 189

Moved by Tom Bryson – Seconded by Brian McCabe

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Tom Bryson to be the Township of Joly representative on the French Severn Forest Local Citizens Committee for this term of Council. **Carried**

8.6 High Rock Committee

R2018 – 190

Moved by Budd Brown – Seconded by Tom Bryson

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Bill Black to be the Township of Joly representative on the High Rock Committee for this term of Council. **Carried**

8.7 <u>Joint Building Committee (JBC)</u> R2018 – 191

Moved by Brian McCabe – Seconded by Bill Black

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Budd Brown to be the Township of Joly representative on the Joint Building Committee for this term of Council. **Carried**

8.8 <u>Provincial Offences Advisory Committee (POA)</u> R2018 – 192 Moved by Bill Black – Seconded by Tom Bryson

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Tom Bryson to be the Township of Joly representative on the Provincial Offences Act Advisory Committee for this term of Council. **Carried**

8.9 <u>Sundridge District Medical Centre Committee (SDMC)</u> R2018 – 193

Moved by Tom Bryson – Seconded by Brian McCabe Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby



THE TOWNSHIP OF JOLY

INAUGURAL MEETING MINUTES

December 4, 2018

appoint Tom Bryson and Tim Bryson to be the Township of Joly representatives on the Sundridge District Medical Centre Committee for this term of Council. **Carried**

8.10 <u>Sundridge Strong Joly Arena & Hall Committee (SSJ Arena)</u> R2018 – 194

Moved by Brian McCabe – Seconded by Budd Brown Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Brian McCabe and Bill Black to be the Township of Joly representatives on the Sundridge Strong Joly Arena & Hall Committee for this term of Council. Carried

8.11 <u>Sundridge Strong Recreation Committee (Rec Committee)</u> R2018 – 195

Moved by Bill Black – Seconded by Tom Bryson

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby appoint Brian McCabe to be the Township of Joly representative on the Sundridge Strong Recreation Committee for this term of Council. **Carried**

8.12 <u>District of Parry Sound Municipal Association (DPSMA) Ward 5 Rep</u> R2018 – 196

Moved by Tom Bryson – Seconded by Bill Black

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby support the reappointment of Lynda Carleton as the Ward #5 representative on the Executive of the District of Parry Sound Municipal Association. **Carried**

- 8.13 <u>Eastholme for the Aged</u> Deferred
- 8.14 <u>Parry Sound District Emergency Medical Service Advisory Committee</u> (EMS) Deferred
 - Deferred
- 8.15 <u>District Social Services Administration Board (DSSAB)</u> Deferred
- 8.16 <u>North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unity (NBPSDHU)</u> Deferred

9. Adjournment

R2018 - 197

Moved by Brian McCabe – Seconded by Budd Brown

Therefore be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Joly hereby adjourn this inaugural meeting of Council at 6.39 pm until the next regular meeting scheduled for December 11th, 2018 at 5:30 pm or at the call of the Mayor. **Carried**

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY TIM BRYSON Mayor

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY LEANNE CROZIER Clerk